Sara Gruen Water for Elephants | SheSpeaks

Most helpful reviews

  • Pistachio Pistachio
    04.25.13

    The movie (urgh, Robert Pattinson) kind of made me not want to read the book, to be honest with you. However, I picked the book up one day, after a couple of friends had recommended it to me. I decided that I was so bored that I thought, "Okay, you know what? Whatever. I've got time to kill anyway", so I started reading it. Water for Elephants is amazing. It's so beautiful and poignant and clever. There are several spots where I nearly cried. I had no idea the circus could be so..... ridiculous, and such an exciting life. The main character is a passionate voice, with a fully developed history, and his narration is so witty. I loved it. However, *warning there is a sex scene.* Just.... prepare yourselves. Although I'll bet this is nothing compared to 50 Shades of Grey. ;)

  • There are currently no voted negative reviews. Be the first and upvote reviews that you think are helpful

All Reviews

Sort by
  • middlemchugh By  middlemchugh    
    08.20.11

    This is one of the best books I read in the last few years. Great story, great character building.....don't miss out on this amazing story.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • acarlton By  acarlton    
    08.17.11

    I loved this book! I even had my husband read and he too enjoyed it. I can't wait until it comes out on Redbox to see it! If you haven't read it te ending is very suprising on who killed the husband.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • denloew By  denloew    
    08.17.11

    This was surprisinlgy a great book. My book club read it and we all liked it. I enjoy learning new things and I did, especially with the history of the circus in the early 1900s.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • basilandcatnip By  basilandcatnip    
    08.10.11

    Library has a very very LONG request list for this book, in electronic, book, and CD form. It must be good.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • mytime67 By  mytime67    
    07.25.11

    I absolutely LOVED that book! I think I could real it again. Still want to see the movie though. Just glad I read the book first. Now I need to get a copy of The Help so I can read it before I see the movie. LOL

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • katger48 By  katger48    
    07.19.11

    My sister read this book and then suggested it to me. I was in the middle of reading another book so I gave it to my 17 year old daughter who loved it so much she couldn't put it down. I felt the same way. I fell in love with the characters. A really great read.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • zorba1234 By  zorba1234    
    07.18.11

    Loved this book. Read it in a few days because it was hard to put down. Also saw the movie which was good, but not as great as the book.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • EmmyLove By  EmmyLove    
    06.26.11

    I love this book!!! I'm amazed at how fabulously Sara Gruen managed to write this novel from a man's point of view, and to do it so vividly and spot on. I read it and didn't think once, oh a woman's trying to be a man. She did amazing. And the story and characters were engaging, vivd, and I couldn't drag myself away from the pages for longer than a few minutes. I definitely enjoyed this book!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • jocelyn2292 By  jocelyn2292    
    06.11.11

    I am an avid romance novel reader and this was by far my favorite book. It was a book that I could not put down until finished and I highly recommend it!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • LibertyL5 By  LibertyL5    
    06.04.11

    I haven't finished reading this book yet, but it is very enjoyable so far.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *