Sara Gruen Water for Elephants Review Page 5 of 18 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • licorice By  licorice    
    11.04.13

    Decent book.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • erica0807 By  erica0807    
    10.31.13

    I could not put this book down!!! It was one of the best books I've read in a while. I am almost afraid to see the movie now because I don't want to ruin it.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • shannonashley By  shannonashley    
    10.26.13

    Ok so the movie was terrible. The book was lovely. Fascinating and emotional it brought forth a lot of real emotion.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • cpalms By  cpalms    
    10.26.13

    Read this book in a day! Great book and great movie to follow.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Cynthia11 By  Cynthia11    
    10.22.13

    I thought this was a great book that kept your attention till the end. It gives you a true glimpse into the world of 1920's circus era. Everyone goes to see the circus, but behind the scenes can be more exciting and drama filled than the actual show. I would recommend that others should pick up and read this book too.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • UnicornsNGlitter By  UnicornsNGlitter    
    10.16.13

    I loved this book, it had something that appeals to everyone. Love, action, adventure, animals. Speaking of animals this book opened my eyes to animal cruelty. I mean I know it exists but it broke my heart reading about how the animals were treated in the circus. the story about Jacob & Marlena, it was sad & intriguing as well. I recommend curling up with this book.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • karngirl75 By  karngirl75    
    10.14.13

    Great book!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Hrrothrock By  Hrrothrock    
    10.07.13

    I read this book several years ago and it remains one of my all time favorites! It's so unique and just an all around great story. I loved the romance of it but more than that I loved reading about the early days of the traveling circuses (which the author researched in order to be historically accurate in her writing). It was so fascinating and after finishing the book I found myself wanting to read more about the subject myself. Definitely would recommend it to anyone and actually let a couple of friends borrow it after recommending it to them! P.s.. The movie in no way compares to the book (as usual).

    Was this helpful?   0
  • ginaver By  ginaver    
    10.07.13

    This is a great read! It is not only a love story but more importantly it is the story of a bond between man and beast. Definitely worth reading.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • MIC2013 By  MIC2013    
    10.02.13

    This is beautifully written and heart touching. I loved every minute of it.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • learneveryday By  learneveryday    
    09.11.13

    I read this with my book club and really liked the book better than the movie, though they did a decent job with the movie. You really have to suspend your disbelief in a few places in things the characters do but overall was a good read. Fascinating look at the circus life; horrifying treatment of animals.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jinglebellstime By  jinglebellstime    
    08.30.13

    Liked the movie but LOVED the book! I love the 20s circus era!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • ashdingus By  ashdingus    
    08.20.13

    I loved the book! The movie was close but I loved loved reading the book

    Was this helpful?   0
  • MollyDennison By  MollyDennison    
    08.19.13

    Such a great book, I really thought that I wasn't going to like it but I loved it!! It was written well and not too long, I read it way before the movie came out and was really pleased with the book!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • angie1966 By  angie1966    
    08.10.13

    Saw the movie and would love to read the book.

    Was this helpful?   0