Sara Gruen Water for Elephants | SheSpeaks

Most helpful reviews

  • Pistachio Pistachio
    04.25.13

    The movie (urgh, Robert Pattinson) kind of made me not want to read the book, to be honest with you. However, I picked the book up one day, after a couple of friends had recommended it to me. I decided that I was so bored that I thought, "Okay, you know what? Whatever. I've got time to kill anyway", so I started reading it. Water for Elephants is amazing. It's so beautiful and poignant and clever. There are several spots where I nearly cried. I had no idea the circus could be so..... ridiculous, and such an exciting life. The main character is a passionate voice, with a fully developed history, and his narration is so witty. I loved it. However, *warning there is a sex scene.* Just.... prepare yourselves. Although I'll bet this is nothing compared to 50 Shades of Grey. ;)

  • There are currently no voted negative reviews. Be the first and upvote reviews that you think are helpful

All Reviews

Sort by
  • Pattybluetx2 By  Pattybluetx2    
    08.06.15

    A quick read that takes you on a journey of another time. Maybe it was the characters or the setting, but it reminded me a lot of Big Fish for some reason.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Ashie0685 By  Ashie0685    
    07.16.15

    Excellent book! Easy read and very interesting...I didnt want to put this book down once I started it! Think I read it within one day!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • rileyarrin37 By  rileyarrin37    
    07.10.15

    I thought this book was amazing!!!! I cried when he had to shoot the horse. I know the horse was in pain but..... An absolute great buy!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Doffhaus89 By  Doffhaus89    
    07.02.15

    I have not seen the movie....however I loved this book! It was a fast read for me but definitely a good one for a lazy day read.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • kfr1027 By  kfr1027    
    04.30.15

    Fascinating book! Such an interesting historical view, and a riveting story. Recommend as a gripping read for everyone!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Granmaw By  Granmaw    
    04.03.15

    I enjoyed this book. It was different from I usually read and I liked it. It was an easy read. You come to really connect and love (and hate) the characters. The way it is written really allows you to feel what the characters are feeling, smell the circus, feel the fear, have the compassion and of course I do love a happy ending. If you have seen the movie, as with all book to movie endeavors, read the book! It's soooo much better.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • shannonmdavis72912 By  shannonmdavis72912    
    03.16.15

    Great read. Not for kids.

      1

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • kittyyoga By  kittyyoga    
    02.12.15

    Loved the characters and setting. Really unique story.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Amusesings By  Amusesings    
    01.27.15

    I read the book before seeing the movie. In fact I didn't know about the movie until Netflix. That being said, it's a great book. A bit unsettling and disturbing at times, but a vivid portal do a traveling circus and the rich characters just come out of the pages. Must read. Always on my recommend list for book clubs.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • jloiodi By  jloiodi    
    01.15.15

    This book was very hard for me to put down. I absolutely loved it and was so sad when it was over. I have to say read the book before seeing the movie because hands down the book was better.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *