Sara Gruen Water for Elephants Review Page 3 of 18 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • Pattybluetx2 By  Pattybluetx2    
    08.06.15

    A quick read that takes you on a journey of another time. Maybe it was the characters or the setting, but it reminded me a lot of Big Fish for some reason.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Ashie0685 By  Ashie0685    
    07.16.15

    Excellent book! Easy read and very interesting...I didnt want to put this book down once I started it! Think I read it within one day!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • rileyarrin37 By  rileyarrin37    
    07.10.15

    I thought this book was amazing!!!! I cried when he had to shoot the horse. I know the horse was in pain but..... An absolute great buy!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Doffhaus89 By  Doffhaus89    
    07.02.15

    I have not seen the movie....however I loved this book! It was a fast read for me but definitely a good one for a lazy day read.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kfr1027 By  kfr1027    
    04.30.15

    Fascinating book! Such an interesting historical view, and a riveting story. Recommend as a gripping read for everyone!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Granmaw By  Granmaw    
    04.03.15

    I enjoyed this book. It was different from I usually read and I liked it. It was an easy read. You come to really connect and love (and hate) the characters. The way it is written really allows you to feel what the characters are feeling, smell the circus, feel the fear, have the compassion and of course I do love a happy ending. If you have seen the movie, as with all book to movie endeavors, read the book! It's soooo much better.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • shannonmdavis72912 By  shannonmdavis72912    
    03.16.15

    Great read. Not for kids.

    Was this helpful?   1
  • kittyyoga By  kittyyoga    
    02.12.15

    Loved the characters and setting. Really unique story.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Amusesings By  Amusesings    
    01.27.15

    I read the book before seeing the movie. In fact I didn't know about the movie until Netflix. That being said, it's a great book. A bit unsettling and disturbing at times, but a vivid portal do a traveling circus and the rich characters just come out of the pages. Must read. Always on my recommend list for book clubs.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • jloiodi By  jloiodi    
    01.15.15

    This book was very hard for me to put down. I absolutely loved it and was so sad when it was over. I have to say read the book before seeing the movie because hands down the book was better.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • Mariahh By  Mariahh    
    01.05.15

    One of my favorites!!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • heathermac By  heathermac    
    11.13.14

    Great book. If you haven't seen the movie, wait until after reading the book. The movie is okay, but a let down considering how good the book is.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • creativeblogmom By  creativeblogmom    
    11.08.14

    Amazing book! A bit disturbing at times, but still riveting. It is one of my all time favorites!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • cort2tfr By  cort2tfr    
    10.17.14

    I had the book before the movie came out. Great story and well cast. I like the book more than the movie but thoroughly enjoyed both.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • mikaelamarie0 By  mikaelamarie0    
    10.15.14

    This book is absolutely AMAZING! Once i started i could not put it down, i felt like i was actually living through the writer's eyes. After falling in love with the book, i decided to watch the movie and it was nothing in comparison to the book, i found myself reading the book all over again just to get back into the mindset and forget about the movie. 5 stars for sure!

    Was this helpful?   0