Sara Gruen Water for Elephants | SheSpeaks

Most helpful reviews

  • Pistachio Pistachio
    04.25.13

    The movie (urgh, Robert Pattinson) kind of made me not want to read the book, to be honest with you. However, I picked the book up one day, after a couple of friends had recommended it to me. I decided that I was so bored that I thought, "Okay, you know what? Whatever. I've got time to kill anyway", so I started reading it. Water for Elephants is amazing. It's so beautiful and poignant and clever. There are several spots where I nearly cried. I had no idea the circus could be so..... ridiculous, and such an exciting life. The main character is a passionate voice, with a fully developed history, and his narration is so witty. I loved it. However, *warning there is a sex scene.* Just.... prepare yourselves. Although I'll bet this is nothing compared to 50 Shades of Grey. ;)

  • There are currently no voted negative reviews. Be the first and upvote reviews that you think are helpful

All Reviews

Sort by
  • marriedgirl27 By  marriedgirl27    
    06.03.11

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I read it for the 1st time a few years ago and have reread it since. My husband loved it too and we are very excited to watch the movie. I highly recommend this book!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • nursetiffany By  nursetiffany    
    04.18.11

    I just recently read this book since the movie is now out and I LOVED it!!!!!! I couldn't put it down and finished it very quickly. It was a super great read!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • yogachic By  yogachic    
    12.05.10

    I had heard about this book a while ago but never bought it. Recently picked it up at a used book sale and could not put it down! Fell in love with the main character and truly enjoyed the flashbacks. I too gave it to a friend right after finishing it. Very good read!!!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Traybay By  Traybay    
    11.15.10

    I LOVED this book. I got it as a gift and didn't read it for a year because I thought it looked boring. I do love elephants though, so I decided to give it a try. I admit that for the first half of the book, I was like, where's the elephant? By then I was very involved with all of the wacky but endearing characters. I learned quite a bit about the circus. Didn't think I'd care but it really was very interesting. When the Elephant was introduced, I was in love! She was smart and funny and I wanted a real one. I hated the guy who was mean to her. HATE!! You'll see. Read it, you won't be sorry!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • busgirl By  busgirl    
    10.12.10

    This is by far one of my favorites. I really enjoy reading period pieces of days gone by, and her writing is just wonderful. Great story.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • mamatomonsters By  mamatomonsters    
    10.04.10

    One of my very favorite books. I highly recommend it for a book club.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • apreisen By  apreisen    
    08.11.10

    Absolutely one of the best books I've read. Not typically the type of book I would choose to read, but I am so glad I did! The book is now making the rounds of my family and friends. Its a hit!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • judithcaryn By  judithcaryn    
    08.03.10

    Water for Elephants is one of those rare books that both men and women can relate to and enjoy reading. I shared this book with my father, mother, partner, and adult children and we unanimously enjoyed the read. The story is engaging, the writing descriptive without dragging and the characters are believable and pull at our emotions. Beautifully told, read it before seeing the movie!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Leanonme707 By  Leanonme707    
    07.14.10

    Absolutly loved this book! A must read!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • momsaver1 By  momsaver1    
    02.24.09

    LOVED IT! We read it as part of our book club - what a great read! I read ALOT of fiction and I still remember this story line over a year later!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *