Sara Gruen Water for Elephants Review Page 17 of 18 | SheSpeaks

Reviews & Ratings

Sort by
  • KeriO26 By  KeriO26    
    10.05.11

    I liked this book and thought the story was very unique! I guess I had never really heard much about traveling circuses before.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • stephypoo49 By  stephypoo49    
    09.29.11

    At first I had a hard time following the story and getting into the era that the book takes place, but the author did a great job vividly painting imagery of that time period. I loved the story and the development of the characters. It has a surprise ending too. Also to be credited is her ability to write as an aged male, she did great.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • swyles By  swyles    
    09.29.11

    This is one of the best books ever!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • eniemenie By  eniemenie    
    09.25.11

    I really enjoyed this book. I dont' think I will see the movie as I can see where there can be animal abuse in the movies but the book was great. Also, elephants are most often treated very cruelly to be trained for circus'. They are brutally separated from their mothers at a young age and treated abusively by ignorant handlers. But, the book doesn't really touch on that so it was still enjoyable for me.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • snh710 By  snh710    
    09.24.11

    I read this book after being referred by a friend. I didn't like it as much as I thought I would. I felt like the happenings in the book would've taken a week to do when in fact it was a summer. The time line wasn't actual to me. I felt like the bond between the two main characters; Jacob and Marlena should've been made stronger. I felt like Jacob fell in love with Marlena but Marlena not with him. The book didn't emphasize too much on Marlena's feelings towards Jacob until they were getting ready to have sex. I liked the book but didn't truly love it.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • starlet56 By  starlet56    
    09.19.11

    Not my usual genre but I truly enjoyed this book. It moved at a good pace and I like how it changed from past to current. I will definitely get around to seeing the movie because of the book.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • JadeOrchid0404 By  JadeOrchid0404    
    09.17.11

    I loved this book. I could hardly put it down. I'm looking forward to seeing the movie soon. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • kimbyj By  kimbyj    
    09.14.11

    A wonderful book! I don't get a lot of time to read anymore ... But I am glad that I picked this one up to read!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • armstrong By  armstrong    
    09.13.11

    One of the best books I have ever read, and I read about 20 novels a year!! My drug of choice is a good book :)

    Was this helpful?   0
  • AnnSheSpeaks By  AnnSheSpeaks    
    08.25.11

    I enjoyed it so much too! I didn't think that a book about the circus would be so interesting to me, but it really was. I didn't see the movie yet though, have to netflix that one!

    Was this helpful?   0
  • middlemchugh By  middlemchugh    
    08.20.11

    This is one of the best books I read in the last few years. Great story, great character building.....don't miss out on this amazing story.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • acarlton By  acarlton    
    08.17.11

    I loved this book! I even had my husband read and he too enjoyed it. I can't wait until it comes out on Redbox to see it! If you haven't read it te ending is very suprising on who killed the husband.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • denloew By  denloew    
    08.17.11

    This was surprisinlgy a great book. My book club read it and we all liked it. I enjoy learning new things and I did, especially with the history of the circus in the early 1900s.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • basilandcatnip By  basilandcatnip    
    08.10.11

    Library has a very very LONG request list for this book, in electronic, book, and CD form. It must be good.

    Was this helpful?   0
  • mytime67 By  mytime67    
    07.25.11

    I absolutely LOVED that book! I think I could real it again. Still want to see the movie though. Just glad I read the book first. Now I need to get a copy of The Help so I can read it before I see the movie. LOL

    Was this helpful?   0