Downy Ball Fabric Softener | SheSpeaks

Most helpful reviews

  • MasterofMom MasterofMom
    03.05.14

    If you don't have a timed release section for fabric softener in your machine already, these Downy balls are the BEST! I use one every time I have to wash a load at my mom's house because she doesn't have the separate sections like I do. I think that this product is great in design and great for convenience, but I wonder at how useful they will be since all of the newer washers appear to have the auto-timed release for the fabric softener during the appropriate cycle.

  • There are currently no voted negative reviews. Be the first and upvote reviews that you think are helpful

All Reviews

Sort by
  • rlgreen1260 By  rlgreen1260    
    07.13.18

    Is it the Downy Ball or Is it US?

    Up until 2017 the downy ball was one of the best things in life. However, since May of 2017 the downy ball has not been emptying and staining me and my husbands clothes. I even accused him of messing up my clothes because they had downy spots all over them and he didn't notice and dried the clothes. This happened more than once, several times. I asked him not to wash my clothes anymore. I thought he somehow wasn't closing the ball correctly. We even returned one because we thought it was defective. The new ball does the same thing. This time I used it and washed my own clothes and the downy ball did not release all the downy and stained the clothes. The only difference is I recognized and re-rinsed the clothes. I apologized to my husband because I accused him of not knowing how to use the downy ball. Is it us, after using a downy ball for over 15 years, or is it the downy ball. I don't think we can recommend this to anyone right now.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • homesteadmomma By  homesteadmomma    
    12.20.16

    Love this ball

    This is a guarantee that the softener is getting into your cloths. I put in the softener in my washer and most of the time it is still there when the wash is done. When I use this ball at the end of the wash cycle it is empty every time and my cloths smell great.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • moot0009 By  moot0009    
    01.10.16

    I love my downy ball! I have an older dryer that doesn't have a dispenser built in. I actually use a little less than the line, because my downy free works so well. I also use it for vinegar when I'm washing new things that "shed," like towels or fleece to help reduce the fuzz but still soften. It's great! Just remember, if you're like us and set it on the dryer while it's running (warmly), you need to make sure it's emptied of excess water so it doesn't mold on you!

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Babygeorgia By  Babygeorgia    
    09.29.14

    I have used this for many years without any problem and with different types of fabric softener. It should be filled only to the line inside or else there will be product remaining inside the ball which can spill out on the clean clothes. A great little invention as I hate to wait for the rinse cycle.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • khristine By  khristine    
    08.22.14

    It didn't work well for me.It opened up and all came out.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • Sina_Veiga By  Sina_Veiga    
    06.22.14

    The first time I used it the ball came open but the times after that it didnt. Pretty sure I was just sleep deprived at the time haha! Great product and easy to use :)

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • krystalin96 By  krystalin96    
    06.18.14

    I have had success using the Downy ball. I typically skip liquid softener since I do not like to wait for the rinse cycle. But the Downy ball makes it easy for mom's like me who want the most for the least amount of time and money. I can fill it, toss it in with the load in the beginning and forget about it. Occassionally the ball does not opem but it works perfectly the majority of the time.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • schammers By  schammers    
    05.22.14

    I bought one because my husband dislikes detergent touching his clothes before the washer fills with water. I put it in and the ball didn't open in the washer, so thinking maybe it was just a mishap I left it open for the 2nd round in the washer and found that none of the detergent even came out of the ball. I don't know if the one I own is defective, but I would not buy it again based on my experience.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • MasterofMom By  MasterofMom    
    03.05.14

    If you don't have a timed release section for fabric softener in your machine already, these Downy balls are the BEST! I use one every time I have to wash a load at my mom's house because she doesn't have the separate sections like I do. I think that this product is great in design and great for convenience, but I wonder at how useful they will be since all of the newer washers appear to have the auto-timed release for the fabric softener during the appropriate cycle.

      1

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *


     
  • bambiluv By  bambiluv    
    09.05.13

    I simply love my Downy Ball. I have had mine for at least 6 years. Yes you have to clean it out every few months, but it saves so much time and energy. I always make sure not to over load the washer, that way the ball can evenly move around and distribute the fabric softener. I don't always buy Downy brand softener, I also use Snuggle and occasionally Suavitel (It's really fragrant so I dilute it). The Downy Ball works well with whatever brand you'll chose.

      0

    Brand Name  *


    Enter your review comments here.  *